Official Blog and News For Debbie Gibson

On The Road Update

Hey Everyone!

With lots going on I thought I would write to you all to share some thoughts on this past week!!!
First of all… I am happily exhausted and having a BLAST!
I know I touched on it here and there but, I started last week really under the weather. It is heartbreaking when opportunities like GMA and The View come up and you don’t feel you are at your best. I can hear that speedy cold medication quiver in my voice and that bit of fear that creeps in when all the tools in the toolbox aren’t as sharp as can be… Well? I am my worst critic so again, it is tough. But – with that said – that is what makes it alive. Learning to accept imperfections is a challenge for all of us and I am no exception. I was in great spirits however, and hopefully that transcends all! I have had moments of hitting high notes flawlessly in my life but without the passion and excitement to back it. I would take raw and empassioned anyday…though again, we all want to be at our very best with millions watching! So, to amy of those out there commenting… yes, I know how I sound. I am under no delusions!
I taped a performance of RISE which will air in a couple of weeks on the weekend GMA and there too, I found my power a verse into the song…. Early morning, LA time, running from a quick change, never having performed the song before..a LOT of elements. But, there again, it was alive with all of those elements and eventually found it’s way. I could see the faces of the people in Central Park hearing and feeling the message in that song and it got me out of my own way! So, thank you New York!!! LOL!!! I was also lifted by the Harlem Alumni choir…they were SO fab!!! In case you want to know more about where this song came from, check out 3BillionandCounting.com! This song is a labor of love that was born out of my man, Dr. Rutledge’s passion for helping those who are being threatened to be held down…to own their power and RISE!
Tiffany has been like  rock with her energy and vocal prowess! I know that anyone watching and listening can hear that but I wanted to personally acknowledge that I truly appreciate that and am as impressed as I have ever been by that gal! She is at the top of her game right now…in the midst of doing what she truly loves and it shows! Her album Rose Tattoo deserves your full attention….so go buy it now!!! I am also enjoying watching her enjoying the fashion aspect of the performances. She jokes that back in the day she was all about the denim jacket so now she is goin’ for the glitz and glamor, especially in the shoe department! Hmmm… I have not checked to see what size shoe she wears…. Better not leave any laying around Tiff!!!
The live shows have been thrilling! All that I mentioned above goes away in the midst of a live concert with all of that feedback from the crowd! I have always loved being onstage in front of a live audience more than anything!!! I get truly overwhelmed when I have that contact with all of you and can feel all we have shared through muic over the years. It is an amazing connection! Thank you for all the loyalty….
My band and dancers have been incredible. I had to mark a lot in rehearsals and they had ultimate trust and professionalism… this is not a glamorous tour! We are doing this because we want to bring some fun to the children of the 80′s and everyone has truly banded together to make that happen!!!
On another note…. Whoopi Goldberg is one of the nicest people I have ever met! Random side note I know…. But truly one of the most gracious performers I have ever met!
I also wanted to share with you what a ball I had doing a cameo in Rock of Ages.. WOW! Surreal going from playing Katy’s Mama to Russell’s Rockerchick buddy! I am in a crowdscene/mashup/musical number with some rockers from the 80′s!!!! Seeing the Sunset Strip re-created in Miami was a trip. Everyone on that shoot made me feel like part of the family…. Awesome time!
I do hope you come out to see the show and join in the fun! I am finally able to catch my breath and go on vocal rest for a few days, much to the dismay of my loud New York friends! I am resting and restoring for this next string of dates!
After these shows I will finally begin recording my new album…   The life I have been living has been feeding me as a writer and I cannot wait to share it all with you!
Send me good healing and grounding vibes….
Thank you all for all the great energy you send my way now, and have throughout the years!   X DEB
28 responses

  1. Billy

    So glad to see you back in the spotlight again! You’ve been everywhere lately and I love it! I’m sure it’s super frustrating getting all of this exposure and then not being on too if your game health wise or vocal wise. But…you’re amazing and we’re very happy for you!

    August 3, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  2. chris

    Great Blog debbie really disspointed that there wont be any more dates added ( this tour would have great in canada)but its great to read that you will start work on your new album.

    August 3, 2011 at 3:39 pm

  3. Chris

    Thanks for taking the time Deb to write this. Whether or not your on top of your game just now doesnt matter as you have had major press , major tv and you are now heading towards that major comeback, we can all see it happening already. Plus love what you are doing with the hits and chaging them around a bit and adding a new spin on them, gaga does that with her hits in the charts already and it keeps it a bit fresh and new to watch and keeps the fans expecting a different performance. Love RISE and the GMa performance of this was awsome!!! Can see a Michael jackson(earth song) kinda video/vibe to this song. And cougar will be a main contender for a number 1 in the uk where dance culture rules the charts now We love you !!!

    August 3, 2011 at 4:06 pm

  4. Lisa

    Will there be more dates on the tour? Not currently coming to my area.

    August 3, 2011 at 4:09 pm

  5. Deb,
    No matter what; whether you are on top of the game or not feeling your best, you were and always will sing and perform awesome and write phenomenal songs. My husband and I were talking about it today on how much drive you had in pursuing your life dream at such a young age. I use you as an example to my three teenage boys. You can live to reach your goals and dreams. You just have to have faith in yourself and be persistent.
    Love you Deb and keep writing, keep singing, keep doing what you are doing. You are such an awesome inspiration and I am so happy that I grew up with you through the 80′s, 90′s and on to the present.
    Love ya’,
    Kathy Lester
    http://www.bidzinger.com

    August 3, 2011 at 4:25 pm

  6. Hope you feel better very soon!!! :-) Looking forward to Cleveland!!!

    August 3, 2011 at 4:38 pm

  7. Deb,

    Voice rest is the best and the worst thing! Get feeling better! You look great as always on tv, and please know it’s been just as thrilling for us fans/friends to see you on national widely-viewed tv shows. The exposure is monumental. Really it is. And of course you rocked it like always, sick or not…who cares that’s life people! Btw, had a friend comment to me: “There is no way Debbie is 40!” ha! ;)

    And I say YAY to album news. I think you should tease us fans with some titles and/or lyric lines you have come up with. I’m sure we’ll all have feedback too! ;)

    Beka and I still desperately want you in Utah… We gotta make it happen!

    Good vibes- Matt

    August 3, 2011 at 5:04 pm

  8. Dennis

    Missed coming to GMA because I was also feeling under the weather, but caught you that night in Westbury. My friend and I absolutely loved it. I’d love to see you and Tiffany not only extend your tour but also return to the NY/NJ area. Definitely looking forward to a new album as well. Hopefully you can finish knocking this bug out of your system and feel better.

    August 3, 2011 at 5:14 pm

  9. JJ

    Thanks for the update. Yea, the GMA performance was shaky, but you rocked it on The View. Aside from being an awesome performer/songwriter, I think what your fans love about you the most is the strength you have to get right back up and press on when “life happens”. From your days as a 16 year old “teen idol” to now you have been an inspiration.

    August 3, 2011 at 7:06 pm

  10. Heather

    keep up the great work deb.you are a wonderful person inside and out .don’t give up what you love so much sorry i missed the GMA show because i had to go to work .i’ve been at marshalls for 12 yrs and i enjoy working there.i got some great friends and nice bosses.don’t give up your dreams okay..

    August 3, 2011 at 7:50 pm

  11. Mr Xanadu

    Hi Debbie

    We’re all enjoying this!!!

    You’re a great entertainer!!!

    Luv Ya

    August 4, 2011 at 12:27 am

  12. Randy

    Living in NY I was fortunate to see the GMA performance live as well as the Westbury performance and Paramount show – they all rocked! You looked and sounded great and your energy transcended to the roof. The ushers tried to keep the crowd from standing at Paramount, but that was hopeless and they gave up in 5 minutes and not a seat was used for the entire show.

    I had fallen into the trap years ago that Tiffany was competition and I was never a fan – that has certainly changed over this past week. Not only can she sing, she is so cool and such an amazing person, as well as an incredible performer. It’s enjoyable watching Deborah and Tiffany play off each other’s energy. The tour has been so great that I’m heading to Boston on Sunday and encourage everyone to do the same!

    I have been a huge fan for nearly 25 years and the last week reminds me why. It has been fun introducing friends to the great stuff from the 80’s and seeing Buddy and Deb still performing together the old moves with fresh vigor – keep up the great work!

    August 4, 2011 at 5:41 am

  13. Erik B.

    Hello Miss Gibson, hope you get this ok, lol, I know you’re extremely busy. Just wanted to say just how very happy I am to see you back on tour!!! Like many others, I grew up listening to you (jamming out on my Walkman, lol) and was in such awe at how much talent, ability, and creativity you had at such an early age, and am SO glad you’re still around, kicking butt and taking names! Woo!!! :-) Sorry you’re not feeling well, though, I know it really bothers you when you can’t give it your all…that to me just shows how much you care about your fans, a rare thing nowadays. I have always loved how passionate you are about what you do, you always have been different…an incredibly gifted, wonderful, and lovely person and human being, both inside and out. So many “artists” nowadays (most of whom couldn’t play an instrument to save their lives, and whose voices are synthesized and warbley beyond recognition because they can’t sing a lick, lol) are in it just for the $$$. Not you. You truly love what you do, and it shows. I’ve seen your tours, plays, and many other works over the years, and you RAWK. (Also…you look amazing, even more so now than ever, if that’s possible! Wow. Lol) :-) Thank you for ALL you do, no one else compares. You are very, very much appreciated, and respected even more.

    Best wishes, a speedy recovery, and continued prosperity and success to you, always.

    “Zappin’ it to ya” (from cyberspace, lol)…
    Erik B. ;-)

    August 4, 2011 at 12:16 pm

  14. You were excellent at GMA and Asbury Park,It was a real pleasure to finally see you live (after 24 years) Thanks for the opportunity to see you and for a WONDERFUL show!!
    I hope you feel better soon!!!!!

    August 4, 2011 at 2:25 pm

  15. One more thing is there a chance that you will be selling tour shirts online as I did not have the extra money to buy one at your Asbury Park show and I WANT ONE!!!

    August 4, 2011 at 2:27 pm

  16. TJ Miller

    I am so sorry to hear that you are under the weather. But remember…everything happens for a reason. It will only make you stronger and that much better of a performer. I have waited 25 years to see your show…you could just stand there and that would be enough for me. Either way…I look forward VERY much to see you in Iowa next week. Don’t worry about the critics. When I was young and a huge fanatic…I was made fun of a lot, but all of it made me stronger and the person I am today. Cheers!

    August 4, 2011 at 5:53 pm

  17. Heather

    are you going to be in florida like tampa …please i would to she you prform again….you are amazing singer.don’t stop performing .you love singing……

    August 4, 2011 at 7:41 pm

  18. Heather

    thank you for beleiving your dreams becausei am going back to school for massage therapy and animal massage therapy to .so thank you for never giving up on your dreams…we are enjoy your music and your believe i a dreams.all we need is a dream.like the lotto a dollar and a dream .so so much…

    August 4, 2011 at 8:20 pm

  19. chris72nc

    Feel better big sis, we’ve grown up together, and I thank you so much for that, keep on rockin’! My candle is still burning and always will be for your total world domination! LOVE! :)

    August 5, 2011 at 12:09 am

  20. SORRY THAT YOU ARE UNDER THE WEATHER,DEB.
    REST THAT BEAUTIFUL VOICE THAT GOD HAS GIVEN YOU.
    TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF FIRST.THAT’S THE MOST IMPORTANT THING.
    I’M GLAD THAT YOU AND TIFF ARE FINALLY GOING ON TOUR BUT I WISH THAT YOU CAN ADD MORE TOUR DATES THROUGHOUT CANADA, THE PHILLIPIANS , THE UK , AUSTRALIA AND OTHER PARTS OF THE WORLD. I HAD SEEN YOU PERFORM RISE ON GMA WITH THE CHOIR AND YOU ALL HAD TOTALLY ROCKED IT!!!!! YOU AND TIFF WERE AWESOME PERFORMING ON GMA AND ON THE VIEW.
    KEEP DOING WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND AVOID ALL NEGETIVE COMMENTS FROM THE PRESS AND PEOPLE CAUSE THEY’RE JUST JELIOUS *LOL*
    TAKE CARE ,DEB
    LOVE SUZY

    August 5, 2011 at 3:34 am

  21. Janice Goldint

    hey great that you are having a great time and I wish I could see you and tiff in concert but you wont be comming to UT Salt Lake City. I send you and Tiff Hugs and lots of positive energy!!! Have fun

    August 7, 2011 at 8:54 am

  22. JOSIP MIKHAIL B. FEROLIN

    HI ! DEBBIE GIBSON AND TIFFANY,

    CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR CONCERT TOGETHER. PLEASE BRING THIS TOUR IN SOUTHEAST ASIA !!!!!

    I’D LIKE YOU BOTH DO A RECORD OF YOUR CLASSICS AS A DUET VERSIONS OF “LOST IN YOUR EYES ” AND ” COULD’VE BEEN “.

    DEBBIE AND TIFFANY, I HAVE A SUGGESTION, HOW ABOUT ” A JOURNEY THROUGH THE 80′S ” ALBUM. MERELY A SUGGESTION.

    MORE POWER AND GOD BLESS YOU BOTH ALWAYS !!!!!!

    YOUR LOYAL AND FRIEND IN THE PHILIPPINES,

    JOSIP MIKHAIL B. FEROLIN

    August 7, 2011 at 6:56 pm

  23. Daniel

    Happy B – Day on the 31st of august .. Dan the Dj in Florida 8 -31-65

    August 26, 2011 at 3:27 pm

  24. Heather

    I PRAY THAT YOU RECOVER AND HAD A GREAT BIRTHDAY …..HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

    August 31, 2011 at 7:30 pm

  25. Cold remedies (NO SIDE EFFETS): inhale silver colloid spray; use blood electrocution (various devices); ozonate water; alkalize diet for a few days; add lemon to water; cinnamon + honey [these are excellent fast remedies and just barely touch on all the possibilities!] Got back, arthritis or other chronic pain? Get the bionicband (don’t ask how it works–just use it; it will likely solve your problems VERY quickly! Group meditation is proven, too! I’m always trying to send positive energy your way-U can be sure of that!

    October 29, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    • Heather

      i know how that feels i was under the weather two weeks go and it was exhausted to and i felt so weak i could not lond days .a good sleep helped so get well soon deborah.

      October 30, 2011 at 8:05 pm

  26. dj darren

    hi to debbie gibson are you and tiffany comeing to orlando florida to do a concert here in florida . and i have seen you in concert in west palm beach florida.you had come up too me before were a super super star at nepenthe dance club in fortlauderdale florida.and i have work at josephs night club and restrauant for 6 years .are you recording any new songs or is tiffany recording any new songs yet…you have been working on a ……lot of things.i saw the new kids on the block with the back street boys this summer

    November 7, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    • Heather

      debbie you should do duet wth natsha bedingfield it would be and has anyone ever told you tha you look just like her….

      November 9, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers