Official Blog and News For Debbie Gibson

Sarah Lonsert’s “Dancing Through Life” Named January “Best Song Of The Month”

By Dale Kawashima

Sarah Lonsert, a promising, young pop singer/songwriter based in Orange County, CA, has won the SongwriterUniverse “Best Song Of The Month” Contest for January, for her song “Dancing Through Life” (co-written by Jonathan George). Lonsert will be independently releasing her debut album, Dreams And Poetry, this February (2010).

Sarah Lonsert
Sarah Lonsert

“Dancing Through Life” is a well-crafted, contemporary dance/pop song which has a hooky chorus melody and pulsing dance track. Interestingly, what makes this song truly stand out is its positive, uplifting lyric message. The lyric (as indicated by its title) has a joyful, celebrative theme that resonates beyond its dancefloor groove. This song was skillfully produced by Anthony Mazza, who is known for recording and touring with Christina Aguilera and other major artists.

Lonsert, who is only 17, was both in Anaheim, CA, and she got into music at a young age. Notably, she was inspired to learn and develop her music due to being diagnosed as autistic. “I got into music because I was autistic,” explained Lonsert. “When I was young I would throw temper tantrums, but I learned to channel my emotions into my music. I’m still autistic, but [my condition has improved] due to five years of therapy, and developing my music.”

When she was 15, Lonsert had a breakthrough when she attended the Camp Electric Youth music & performance camp run by Deborah Gibson (former teen star & platinum artist). “It was great attending this camp and learning about performing, and connecting with an audience,” said Lonsert. “Deborah taught me how to write songs, and she produced some of my demos. I also wrote two songs with her.”

Sarah Lonsert
Sarah Lonsert

During the past two years, Lonsert has written many songs, and she is completing her debut album, Dreams And Poetry. The album is being produced by Anthony Mazza, and features several songs co-written with Jonathan George.

One of her favorite songs remains “Dancing Through Life.” “I wanted this song to have a positive philosophy, to say that life can be fun, even if someone is going through some difficult times,” she said. Impressively, “Dancing Through Life” recently was the grand prize winner in the USA Songwriting Competition, and Lonsert was named Singer/Songwriter Of The Year at the L.A. Music Awards.

Lonsert will be promoting her new album with a show at the Roxy club in L.A. on January 27. She will also be performing several shows in Arizona, and in Southern California.

SOURCE

12 responses

  1. Bill

    You are a very pretty girl!

    January 9, 2010 at 12:04 am

  2. I WISH YOU ALL OF THE BEST SARAH IN YOUR MUSICAL CAREER.
    YOU ARE TRULY AN INSPIRATION, GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    KEEP IT UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THANKS FOR THE POST,DEB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    January 9, 2010 at 2:12 am

  3. Hi Deborah,
    Thank you for starting me off on this awesome career. You are my inspiration and hero!!!
    Love,
    Sarah

    January 9, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    • I really appreciate this well written article, and the publiicity it’s bringing. However a few facts are completely wrong and others misleading. The Album “Dreams & Poetry” is Executive Produced by Duane Thomas and co produced by Duane Thomas and the extremely talented Anthony Mazza. Furthermore it absolutely contains NO songs written by or co written by Johnathan George. Every wonderful song is sung by the amazing SARAH LONSERT. And all songs were written or co written by Duane Thomas & Sarah Lonsert. Thank you Deborah for this forum to set facts straight. =)

      January 10, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      • First of all, I am so excited for Sarah and all the amazing blessings!! I have enjoyed working with her and writing with her. It is amazing to see how so many people go into making an artist. Duane, I am so happy to hear Sarah singing your music and that you believe in her….I’m a HUGE fan so it is good to see someone else believe in her the way I do! I look forward to meeting you at the Album Release Party!! Anthony is my right hand man and one of my favorite writing partners. I’m really happy that it has worked out for him to produce the album. As far as me, I co-wrote and co-produced “Dancing Through LIfe” and “Romeo”, and from my understanding are not going on the album. The album you are doing with Sarah is all your original work…correct? That is awesome!

        Deb…love you girl!!

        January 11, 2010 at 12:37 pm

      • Johnathon I too look forward to finaly meting you. Sarah tells me you are amazing to work with. From hearing ROMEO and DANCING THRU LIFE along with your extensive resume it will be my honor to meet someone of your caliber in the industry. We are both lucky to have Anthony in our lives. He is such an up person and his passion and integrity are second to none. When I asked Mrs. Lonsert for a sound technician, she didn’t hesitate to reccomend him. As for Sarah’s new CD, DREAMS & POETRY it is a colaboritive effort of songwriting culminating from our chance meeting years ago when she was a little girl. We actually got reaquanted recently, again by chance, from a mutual friends face book comment. God does indeed work in mysterious ways. I’m hoping should time and fate allow that the three of us will get a chance to work on a song together.

        January 11, 2010 at 2:03 pm

  4. Pam Takamiya

    Wow Sarah! I am amazed at the talent you have and am so very proud of you! I hope to catch a performance soon, even if it”s just on your porch! Good luck sweetheart, keep it up!

    January 10, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    • Hey Pam,
      How on earth did you see this. Come on over anytime and Sarah will sing for you on the porch! See you around the neighborhood,
      Michelle

      January 13, 2010 at 12:10 am

  5. Madison Newman

    Hi Sarah, this is Madison. I was at the B.I.G. EXPO, I remember you because first I listen to your CD all the time (its awesome), second you gave me the CD for free. By the way thank you so much for the CD, your just so nice, such a great singer, and so pretty. Please write me back.:)

    February 2, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    • Madison I’m sure Sarah will get back to you soon, but until then I just wanted you to know how much we all appreciate how much your enjoying the music and that you took the time to write and tell her. That means the world to Sarah. Next to me and her mom and dad we’ll say Madison is her biggest fan. Take care and thanks for listening!
      Executive Producer
      Duane Thomas

      February 2, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    • Hey Madison!!!!!!!!
      I just got around to seeing your comment and let me just say your too sweet :D
      I’m soooooo super glad your enjoying the CD!!! And your welcome!!! I’m glad your happy with the CD!!!!!! Thank you sooo much for all the amazing compliments!!! I hope your having/will have an amazing day and I hope I see you again soon!!!!
      Go request me on girlsrockradio.com
      ~Sarah Lonsert <3

      February 2, 2010 at 9:58 pm

      • @Jonathan, Perhaps I failed to answer your qestion on authorship of dreams & poetry. I am indeed the sole writer of the entire album except for the song dear friend which Sarah wrote. Whats most interesting about this project is that I wrote almost all the songs before she was born. It took her beautiful voice and looks to bring them to life some thirty years later.
        Duane

        January 2, 2011 at 2:58 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers